Discovery Canyon's Corah Price, St. Mary's Peyton Richter earn CHSAA All-State softball nods

Photo - Corah Price, senior pitcher for the Discovery Canyon Thunder, is the prep sports peak performer for the week, photographed on Monday, Sept. 25, 2017. 

(The Gazette, Nadav Soroker)

Corah Price, senior pitcher for the Discovery Canyon Thunder, is the prep sports peak performer for the week, photographed on Monday, Sept. 25, 2017. (The Gazette, Nadav Soroker)

Although the Discovery Canyon softball team had an early exit from the 2017 playoffs, the Thunder are still racking up postseason accolades, led by senior Corah Price, who was named a CHSAA 4A 1st team all-star, announced Wednesday.

As the Thunder's ace, Price completed the season 17-5 with a 2.51 ERA, and racked up an astounding 180 strikeouts in 130 innings pitched, and threw nine shutouts. She also boasted a .456 batting average and had 31 RBIs.

St. Mary's Peyton Richter earned a spot on the CHSAA 3A second team after leading the Pirates to their first state playoff appearance in 11 years. Richter had the team's top batting average by nearly 150 points, hitting .609, and slugging an impressive 1.028. She was also the team's lone wolf in the circle, pitching 111 innings for a 13-7 record and a 3.14 ERA.

Pine Creek senior Camille Lucas was named a 5A honorable mention, accompanied by Rampart's Shelby Shepherd.

Briana Atencio of Canon City earned a 4A honorable mention, along with Cassidy Horn of Air Academy, Cheyenne Mountain's Katelynn Ralston, Amber Rees of Discovery Canyon, and Katrina Robertson of Mesa Ridge.

In 3A, Cassidy Bueno of James Irwin was named an honorable mention, while Mackenzie Pepper of St. Mary's round out the area's 3A honors.

Editors note: Softball postseason awards don't stop with CHSAA. Make sure to keep an eye on for our Pikes Peak All-Stars and Player of the Year honors coming soon!

CHSAANow All-Stars

Class 5A

Player of the year: Kailey Wilson, Eaglecrest

Coach of the year: Kristen Shirk, Legend

First team — Morgan Clausen, Arvada West; Kate Delaney, Fossil Ridge; Megan Foley, Legacy; Erin Kerby, Mountain Vista; Zoey LeCompte, Legend; Halie Litwin, Brighton; Shea Mauser, Arvada Westl Abbey Montoya; Korbe Otis, Columbine; Kailey Wilson, Eaglecrest. Second team — Rachel Bean, Thunder Ridge; Trisha Cook, Legacy; Jessica Espinoza, Pomona; Jordyn Hays, Grand Junction Central; Payton Lincavage, Legend; Mia Moddelmog, Fossil Ridge; Brandee Morris, Eaglecrest; Hailee Swanson, Legend; Brooklyn Trujillo, Prairie View; Adrienne Visintine, Chaparral. Honorable mentions — Christaana Angelopulos, Arvada West; Kayla Banks, Smoky Hill; Jill Bishop, Brighton; Jessi Case, Loveland; Rachel Colwell, Mountain Range; Arianna Cordova, Poudre; Braelyne Crenshaw, Eaglecrest; Minerva Cruz, Far Northeast Warriors; Olivia Dampier, Dakota Ridge; Jennifer Dudash, Fort Collins; Jordan Ellis, Fossil Ridge; Reggie Gaglione, Rock Canyon; Maya Galicia, Westminster; Rebecca Gonzales, Mountain Vista; Brandi Haller, Fruita Monument; Tori Haug, Brighton; Lainey Hughes, Broomfield; Taylor Humphries, Horizon; Alley Kim, Douglas County; Laurin Krings, Loveland; Shelby Lamkin, Rock Canyon; Camille Lucas, Pine Creek; Millenni Lucero, Northglenn; Isabel Macias, Regis Jesuit; Megan Medhus, Cherokee Trail; Daysha Mendez, Columbine; Skylar Montoya, Denver East; Maddy Murphy, Lakewood; Alyssa Nunn, Legend; Peyton Propp, Bear Creek; Kristen Reed, Fossil Ridge; Shelby Robb, Arvada West; Megan Rubalcaba, Grand Junction; Rachel Sabourin, Eaglecrest; Hailey Schaneman, Grand Junction Central; Bree Shaffer, Pomona; Shelby Shepherd, Rampart; Sarah Stamps, Prairie View; Abri Trujillo, Ralston Valley; Tiffany Vigil, Pomona; Dani Young, Rocky Mountain.

Class 4A

Player of the year: Alexandria Kilponen, Valor Christian

Coach of the year: Randy Felton, Mountain View

First team — Kaley Barker, Mountain View; Bailey Carlson, Mountain View; Izzy Griego, Mountain View; Alexandria Kiloponen, Valor Christian; Makayla Middleton, Golden; Jetta Nannen, Silver Creek; Corah Price, Discovery Canyon; Taylor Puga, Pueblo Central; Kat Sackett, Erie. Second team — Janae Cameron, Windsor; Elise Capra, Erie; Dana Dwyer, Silver Creek; Jade Garbiso, Pueblo West; Kendra Green, Silver Creek; Sevi Harden, Thomas Jefferson; Tracy Harrison, George Washington, Zoya Robbins, Thomas Jefferson, Rachel Rucker, Elizabeth. Honorable mentions — Miranda Algien, Pueblo South; Isabel Alire, George Washington; Kate Anderson, Wheat Ridge; Briana Atencio, Canon City; Ashlynn Balliet, Berthoud; RaLeigh Basart, Mountain View; Madi Biller, Elizabeth; Regan Bossow, Eagle Valley; Makaila Bueno, Pueblo County; Peyton Caldwell, Rifle; Megan Feiner, Golden; Kayla Harper, Silver Creek; Kaitlyn Harris, Rifle; Cassidy Horn, Air Academy; Jaelyn Jackson, Thomas Jefferson; Jaila Johnson, Niwot; Sarye Lopez, Alameda; Tatum Maloney, Mullen; Anna Martinez, Holy Family; Bailey Marvel, D'Evelyn; Brittlyn Massey, Frederick; Madalyn Massey, Frederick; Makenna McVay, Thompson Valley; Katie Meredith, Valor Christian; Jenna Moore, Longmont; Anna Palomar, Pueblo County; Cassidy Pitts, Ponderosa; Katelynn Ralston, Cheyenne Mountain; Amber Rees, Discovery Canyon; Daija Robbins, Junior, Thomas Jefferson; Katrina Robertson, Mesa Ridge; Marissa Sanchez, Mullen; Jaycee Schroeder, Mountain View; Drew Sims, Conifer; Dominique Trujillo, Pueblo Central; Arianna Valdez, Kennedy; Madysun Vaughan, Erie; Anna Veltien, Mead.

Class 3A

Player of the year: Dakota Stotyn, Strasburg

Coach of the year: Michelle Woodard, Strasburg

First team — Jolene Carrica, Rocky Ford; Hampton Hays, Faith Christian; Kamryn Leoffler, Brush; Brooke Polenz, Sterling; Alexis Rayburn, Strasburg; Maddy Rule, Brush; Lexie Smith, La Junta; Dakota Stotun, Strasburg; Hailey Unrein, Brush. Second team — McKenzie Connor, Faith Christian; Lauren Frink, Eaton; Celsi Jurgensmeier, Eaton, Abrianah McGaw, Faith Christian; Sydney Odle, Brush; Carly Powley, Weld Central; Haleigh Prosser, Lamar; Peyton Richter, St. Mary's; Remington Ross, Eaton. Honorable mentions — Katie Arnold, Akron; Morgan Brantmeyer, Peak to Peak; Molly Brown, Holyoke; Cassidy Bueno, James Irwin; Megan Burghart, Burlington; Laci Coen, Lamar; Bella Dreher, Weld Central; Daphne Halverson, University; Josie Hiatt, Cedaredge; Allie Hobbs, Eaton; Shelby Hoxie, Florence; Jenna Jaklich, Limon; Ashley Jaramillo, Rocky Ford; Rylan Losh, Strasburg; Mackenzie Marshall, Meeker; Kyra McFarland, University; Rylyn Nelson, Sterling; Peyton Pecar, Wray; Mackenzie Pepper, St. Mary's; Ashlyn Richardson, Strasburg; Hailee Ruble, Delta; Jolene Rutheford, Valley; Kate Schrock, Basalt; Megan Shelton, Meeker; Brooke Smith, Limon; Jenna Sutliff, Delta; Maggie Swank, Englewood; Hailey Vaughan, La Junta; Anira Watson, Sheridan; Sierra Williams, Meeker.